Western and Vedic House Styles

What are Houses in Astrology

The Houses are the sections of the birthchart, usually starting at the horizon and moving counterclockwise.  They signify the different areas of life experience, giving added meaning to the interpretation of a planet in a person’s chart.

Types of Houses

There are different kinds of houses according to the Vedic astrology scheme.


Dharma houses have to do with our life’s mission, our “calling” which honors the divine flame in us, and how we are special to the universe. The dharma houses are considered quite fortunate and spiritual.  The dharma houses are: 1, 5, and 9th houses


Kama houses have to do with physical life and the enjoyments thereof: excitement and adventure, love, and financial rewards, etc. The kama houses are: 3, 7, and 11th houses


Moksha houses have to do with ultimate spiritual liberation, true happiness and compassion. The moksha houses are: 4, 8, and 12th


Artha houses have to do with honors, prestige, financial matters, career and success. The artha houses are: 2, 6, and 10th


Dusthana houses have to do with challenge, overcoming and karma-balancing. The dusthana houses are: 6, 8 and 12th


Upachaya houses have to do with conditions in life that usually start out difficult, but over time improve. The upachaya houses are: 3, 6, and 10th

Artha Kama Dharma Moksha Houses in Astrology
Dusthana Houses in Astrology
Upachaya Houses in Astrology

April Celestial Events

April 1, Moon on Antares/Aldebaran Axis
April 4, Last Quarter Moon
April 6, Moon conj Saturn
April 7, Moon conj Jupiter
April 12, New Moon
April 14, Moon at Apogee
April 17, Moon conj (occults) Mars
April 19, Mercury at Superior Conjunction
April 20, First Quarter Moon
April 22, Lyrid Meteor Shower
April 27, Mercury at Perihelion and Super Full Moon
April 29, Moon conj Antares
April 30, Sun conj Uranus

Astrollogy Concepts